Love in a Card

Excited to finish work early on a Friday. This was an opportunity to accompany my husband to pick up Tegumailagi from school this is one important appointment that I look forward to every Friday. I walked down the school gates from the car park, into the main reception area and eagerly waited for my “Darlin Tegu” .

About 5 minutes into waiting, I could just about see his little face trying to get eye contact to confirm that I have seen him. Oh his excited face was as if we have been apart for a lifetime, I got a lovely hug and he handed me his jade book bag to hold. We arrived home, Tegu was persuading me have a look in the book bag. I handed his PECs folder to him which is usually in his bookbag, By this time I could make out that it was not what he intended for me to see. He immediately reached into the book bag and showed me the card he made at school with the biggest smile he hugged me again handed me the card. With tears following down my cheeks, I said “thank you luvequ” , Nau loves you so much. For a split moment there I knew that Tegumailagi could show affection. We started this Autism journey with so much emotion and thoughts of “what if” and ” we could have” . But now on the homerun. Our infectious optimism is winning. If it was meant to be it will be. What ever the situation stay positive and keep believing. Thank you my darling Tegumailagi. Your actions does speak louder than words😘

2 thoughts on “Love in a Card

Leave a comment